Tuesday, July 7, 2009

ACTION ALERT -- Call Your Senator

Federal Safe Routes to School Reauthorization

Senators Tom Harkin (D-IA), Richard Burr (R-NC), Bernard Sanders (I-VT), Jeff Merkley (D-OR) and Susan Collins (R-ME) have joined together to introduce the Safe Routes to School Program Reauthorization Act (S. 1156). This is an exciting and important step forward as these five diverse Senators have agreed to champion the federal Safe Routes to School program. To get more Senators to step up as leaders on Safe Routes to School, we need your help.

Your Senators need to hear from you about the importance of growing and strengthening the Safe Routes to School program in the next transportation bill. The Safe Routes to School program encourages students to walk to school by building sidewalks, making crossings safer and providing outstanding safety education and encouragement with fun activities like Walking Wednesdays.

Please take just five minutes to contact your two Senators to ask them to show their support for the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) program by co-sponsoring the legislation. To do so, click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment